Critical Subjects:

Spring Architecture & Design School

Think critically, design differently

Judging panel

The judges for the crits on Friday at Heatherwick Studios include:

Alison Brooks, Alison Brooks Architects;
Karl Wallasch, Trigon Fire
Abi Rose, Project 8
Patrik Schumacher, Zaha Hadid Architects
Xi Junjie, University of Liverpool
Penny Lewis, Dundee University
Stephen Smith, Wright & Wright
Bernhard Blauel, Bernhard Blauel Architect
Alastair Donald, Academy of Ideas
Alan Dunlop, Alan Dunlop Architects
Kim Quazi, Arup
Richard Woolf, McDaniel Woolf Architects
Michael Owens, Bow Arts Trust
Alex Scott-Whitby, ScottWhitbyStudio
Piers Gough, CZWG
Vicky Richardson, V&A
Darryl Chen, Hawkins\Brown
Jan Bowman, artist
Cindy Walters, Walters & Cohen
Austin Williams, Zhanet Mishineva, David Harrison, Emilia Ignaciuk, Denitsa Dimitrova, Martin Allen and various architects at Heatherwick Studios



The jury for the choice of submissions (choosing long/shortlists and successful candidates) include:

Shelagh McNerney, Manchester City Council;
Professor Xing Ruan, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China;
Paul R Tang, principal, Paul Tang Architects, California;
Lee Mallett, director, Urbik;
Paul Finch, director, World Architecture Festival;
Paul Hyett, director, VickeryHyett & past-president of the Royal Institute of British Architects;
Azhar Azhar, founder, Azhar Architecture;
Darryl Chen, Urban Design lead, Hawkins Brown;
Piers Gough, founding director, CZWG;
Jonathan Glancey, architectural author/commentator;
Robert Adam, architect/writer;
Will Hunter, senior researcher, MIT & founder, London School of Architecture;
Ike Ijeh, head of Housing, Architecture & Urban Space, Policy Exchange;
Richard Woolf, director, McDaniel Woolf;
Bernhard Blauel, founder Blauel Architects;
Simhika Rao, associate director, HebHomes, Glasgow;
Rushabh Haria, Public Sector Reform, HM Treasury;
Penny Lewis, course leader, University of Dundee School of Architecture;
Alan Dunlop, director, Alan Dunlop Architect;
Alistair Donald, associate director, Academy of Ideas;
Zhanet Mishineva, project architect, Clive Chapman Architects;
Simon Allford, PRIBA & founder AHMM;
Xi Junjie, senior lecturer, University of Liverpool;
Alex Cameron, art director;
Kim Quazi, director, Arup;
Dr Chia-lin Chen, lecturer, Urban and Regional Planning Studies, Liverpool University;
Austin Williams, director, Future Cities Project;
Alex Lifschutz, director, Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands;
Paul Reeves, Manufacturing Simulation Technology;
Mark Iddon, founder, Urbanization Architects;
Stephen Smith, partner, Wright & Wright;
Patrik Schumacher, director, Zaha Hadid Architects;
Kim Quazi, director, Arup;
Glenn Howells, partner, Howells;
Jan Bowman, artist;
Andrew Nahum, principal curator of Technology and Engineering, The Science Museum;
Stefanie Schneider, UN Participatory Slum Upgrading Programme;
Nick Pocock, associate, Ashton Porter;
Rowan Morrice, senior architect, Stallan-Brand;
Benjamin Spaeth, professor of Digital Design, Technische Hochschule Lübeck;
Sarah Shuttleworth, development manager, Brockton Everlast.